Creativity, Leadership, Motivation, Personal Development, Strategic planning

Creating the road as you walk upon it!

Many people have clear goals. These people often will write down there goals, then break them down into sub-goals and actions necessary to achieve those goals. They then draw a long line between where they are now and where they want to be. And, as anyone who has had basic geography can tell you, the shortest distance between two points is a straight line. Detours only make the journey longer and less efficient.  So, the argument goes, the best way to achieve your goals is to make a clear plan; a linear plan, moving daily one step closer down the long straight line toward your goals.

Now, while this may be an excellent way for many people to live a fulfilled life, I’ve not found this method to be most suitable for me. Rather I have taken another approach; a non-linear one. I wander around and collect new experiences. I seldom walk in a straight line for any length of time. I detour often. And as I do this I’m awake to the opportunity to accumulate and learn numerous new skills, attitudes, ideas, ways of viewing things, approaches, etc. Then after some time I stop up for a while and assess where I’ve been and what I’ve learned. I look ahead to see if any new challenges might match the new skills, etc I’ve acquired. Then I take a hop in that direction and start accumulating new experiences in that general area.

The road is created as I walk on it. This is probably not the best method for everyone, but maybe for some? Let me know what you think :-).

6 thoughts on “Creating the road as you walk upon it!

  1. It’s how I have experienced life. Goals should mostly be focused on ABILITIES rather than big results as many things can happen along a path and not everyone gets to be the first human on Mars.

    Like

    1. Many things can happen along the path. My thoughts exactly. The work can turn sideways or upside down. It’s good to be open for new opportunities🙃. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  2. I have thought a lot about this issue for a while about having clear long term goals… The thing is that I cannot come up with goals like that even though I’ve tried to dig deep into my mind and analyzed what is important to me and all that. It is reassuring to hear that an experienced man like you with such an interested resumé is also not setting clear long term goals – and yet have accomplished so much!
    Having concrete tasks at hand with clear short-term goals is another matter; that feels natural to me to set those and follow them. But instead of long term goals at least for now I have settled with living based on values and principles rather than on long term goals…

    Like

Leave a Reply

